Bronzed

Bronzed

If the saint could gather
in doves like leaves
From the sky to the hand
to the heart
Why then did these love-birds
turn to stone, bronzed
by time, fashioned metal, cold
words, love frozen in a moment of time,
eternity stuck in that moment?

Β Sharing for the first time withΒ  Magpie Tales.
This entry was posted in Free Verse and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Bronzed

  1. Olivia says:

    Very well written!

    Why then did these love-birds
    turn to stone, bronzed.. why indeed!

    Well played πŸ™‚
    Hugs xx

  2. Helen says:

    Love frozen in time …. I like the concept.

  3. Ann Grenier says:

    I too got a cold feeling from this statue of St. Francis. It seems to deliberately focus on the darker aspect of his life/life.

  4. Dr.FTSE says:

    I too thought his expression is cold, distant, almost cruel; quite capable of turning the birds to stone.

  5. friko says:

    You dared to say it, there is very little of the Christian milk of kindness in this photograph.

    Perhaps it is simply the way the statue is lit.

    I got away from the ‘saintly’ concept, it made me feel uncomfortable.

  6. pathoftreasure says:

    Wow, thank you all for your comments and observations, it is very enlightening to me, as I cannot know what others think without this sharing, thus I highly appreciate your feedback and 0bservations.

    It might surprise you that I actually perceive this statue as quite benevolent and peaceful, full of love, I think I see it in the way his hands cradle and reach for the birds, and his downcast eyes, looking toward them… which is why I pose the question of the birds frozen… if so much love, then why the stone? I am drawing a parallel to life, in which love is offered but somewhere along the way it is not received in a stony heart place, and I see many people frozen, just like these frozen birds, but love is close by (represented by the saint statue). (I realize now that the connection is vaguely written, it isn’t obvious in my poem). So that is why I am so appreciative of your time reading and sharing. I can see how I come across and how I may improve. I am quite new to blogging poetry online.
    Again, thank you all so kindly! Beautiful day to you.

  7. tess kincaid says:

    “…love frozen in a moment of time” wonderful.

  8. Kim Nelson says:

    This made me think… I know some folks who’ve spent decades stuck in a moment. And I pray I shall never be one of them. Really provocative take on the prompt photo.

    http://www.kimnelsonwrites.com/2011/05/09/courage-in-my-cup/

  9. Jingle says:

    thought provoking, love it.

    πŸ™‚

  10. stunning imagery.

    well done!

    check out short story slam and welcome your submission.

    πŸ˜‰

  11. Kay Davies says:

    “from the sky to the hand to the heart” β€” beautiful!
    β€” K

    Kay, Alberta, Canada
    An Unfittie’s Guide to Adventurous Travel

  12. Anna :o] says:

    Why indeed! Wonderful composed and thought provoking.

    Anna :o]

  13. Trellissimo says:

    I agree – birds need to be feathered, and free flying, not frozen for all time in bronze…

  14. Lydia says:

    I too see the statue as benevolent and the comfort it gave me helped me to write the first poem about I’ve been able to pen about my favorite cat. It doesn’t do him justice – not at all, but I am so grateful for the tears I shed this early morning while writing it.

    Now, about your poem. It is exquisite! From the sky to the hand to the heart…..that lilting phrase seemed to gently flit from word to word the way a bird flits from branch to branch. Really beautiful.

  15. When I see both St. Francis and the birds in stone, bronzed, I feel at least there is symmetry here. I love the image of St. Francis bringing in leaves, then doves, from the sky to the hand to the heart. It makes me feel a spiritual connection between man and his environment. This is a beautiful poem.

Thank you for your comments, much appreciated!!

