Written by a Kid

1) Quatrain:

My Mom

My Mom is not glum

She’s about to become

The most awesome star

At fixing my scar

***

2) Definition:

Mom

My Mom is like

A sweet honey pot.

She helps bring joy

Into my life.

She is like a flower

Standing straight up.

Without her,

I don’t know

Where I would be.

***

For OneStopPoetry,Ā  Friday Poetically with Brian Miller… poems written with, and by kids. Today I include poetry written by my ten-year old son, J, who wrote a few verses as a poetry assignment for Mother’s Day a month ago. First is a quatrain, second is a definition. The poetry booklet also contains a cinquain, free verse, a couplet, and 5 W’s (who, what, when, why), a list, an acrostic with my name. Of course, I loved having poetry written for me! šŸ™‚ A treasure to keep. (Click the link to read more poetry, and to participate!)


This entry was posted in Mothers Day, Poetry by Children. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Written by a Kid

  1. Words to warm a mother’s heart. What a lovely idea for Mother’s Day.

  2. lori says:

    Oh, J! I am impressed, and as a mother myself, I know your mom will treasure this book of poems written just for her. What a gift you’ve given. Nicely done! My kids especially enjoyed the quatrain šŸ™‚

  3. brian says:

    big grin…these are a treasure to keep…that way you can pull them out to warm your heart…great job J…and keep at that poetry, one day you will be glad you did…smiles.

  4. Patricia says:

    I love your words J… and I know your mom does too! Keep writing!

  5. J. good job…you have some great similes in this poem. I bet this made Mom happy.

  6. Tino says:

    I hope one day Tinks will write a poem or two for her old grandad.

    I hope you fixed that scar good.

    Two wonderful pieces that must make you so proud.

  7. ALIVE aLwaYs says:

    Writing a poem for mother’s day is special, I had written one too.
    Kudos to your kid.

  8. Anna says:

    Thank you all so much for your kind comments!
    @ Kerry: the teacher had a good idea, didn’t she!
    @ lori: it is indeed a treasure
    @ brian: yes, definitely a keeper!
    @ Patricia: thanks for your encouragement!
    @ liv2write2day: thank you for pointing those out! I will be sure to tell him!
    @ Tino: I bet Tinks will surely do that for her old grandad! Sweet….
    @ ALIVE aLwaYs: thank you! and I bet your poem made your mom happy!

Thank you for your comments, much appreciated!!

