Beauty Hunt

Photo by Tess Kincaid for Magpie Tales 69

Never have

I found perfect shells

like this one

when I go

searching on sandy shore; I

leave empty-handed.

Instead of

perfect shells like this

on my hunt

for beauty,

I come home with a bag of

broken bits and parts.

Someday, I’ll

find this perfection.

Until then,

I leave with

memories bathed in sunsets

to line the mind’s sills.

Sharing with One Shot Wednesdays and Magpie Tales

This entry was posted in Beauty, Life, Shadorma and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Beauty Hunt

  1. brian says:

    even broken bits carry beautiful images…smiles….and memories…

  2. What a creative way to write about the prompt! Yes, I too can never find anything as beautiful as that shell. It’s usually little boy’s pockets filled with rocks, snails, and sticks!

  3. ayala says:

    Shells broken or perfect are beautiful. I love them and collect them myself.

  4. Pat Hatt says:

    Yep even the broken parts can be put together into something new
    Creating a sight to view

  5. This was very nice. Even the hunting for the shell has it’s own reward as you say

  6. Helen says:

    Memories trump shells any day ………..

    • Anna says:

      That is a good reminder that objects may get lost or stolen, but memories cannot… (and neither can a good education, as my mother used to say!) 😉

  7. versebender says:

    Very nice write…and isn’t the continuing search s enjoyable as the ultimate outcome? More reasons to walk the beach. Vb

  8. jinksy says:

    But its all these broken shells that the sea transforms into sand eventually… Beauty of a different kind…

    • Anna says:

      Another kind of beauty…yes, lovely…formed by bits and through a process of continuous breaking down– that thought inspires me, thank you Friko… I won’t look at sand the same now, but wonder what it was before… 🙂

  9. Ann Grenier says:

    Beautiful, serene. You got me hooked on this shadorma form Anna. I really love it but I have to do something else next I think, play another tune. although I think I could lose myself writing these all day;-)

  10. tess kincaid says:

    That last line is so very nice.

  11. Jingle says:

    very creative thoughts.

    you know the shell and its spirits well.

  12. Bijaylaxmi says:

    Great Poetry…….

Thank you for your comments, much appreciated!!

