a stranger fire

I hold a stranger fire in my hands
Swallow thirsty, foreign tears
Toss seeds of crusted want
Tremble in a swaying land

I am swallowed in moments
of the single flame of a match

My hands do not burn

When the dragon breathes
I catch the blaze in my hands
so my eyes do not drip
And gingerly walk in circles
longing to be swallowed in waves
of cold water

My fingertips leave trails of
charred yellow, turn to ash
I write messages in the sand
The lines of my letters sink
down, crack the earth
splitting continents into phrases
of scattered rivers

I blow out the bulbous flame
surging in my palm
in a single breath which
consumes the oxygen supply
of the shore
until the fire inhales itself
and I am absorbed into the shallows
of the clouds hovering above the waters

My hands do not burn

I have never held a stranger fire
in my hands

***

Sharing with dversepoets.com for their first OpenLinkNight! And with One Stop Poetry, the final curtain for their final One Shot Wednesday… it’s been grand, One Stop!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to a stranger fire

  1. brian says:

    this is a wicked cool piece…holding that fire in your hands…that is life…and what power to pen it so well…great

    • Anna says:

      Thank you so much, appreciate your words! Fire can be life, or it can be destructive… I was looking at it both ways, through hands that wield but also protect.

  2. Yes, we hold so much power in our hands and sometimes it can really hurt. Beautiful.

    • Anna says:

      Thank you; yes it’s a power we wield…but also negative words coming at us which need to be caught and stopped before causing damage.

  3. ayala says:

    Holding the fire in your hands….beautiful.

  4. My fingertips leave trails of
    charred yellow, turn to ash
    I write messages in the sand
    The lines of my letters sink
    down, crack the earth
    splitting continents into phrases
    of scattered rivers

    This invoked a whole world of power pouring from words.

  5. hedgewitch says:

    Packed with images, some disturbing, some enlightening, all intriguing. “When the dragon breathes / I catch the blaze in my hands…” a strange fire indeed burning in this piece. Liked it much.

    • Anna says:

      I value your comments and feedback, hedge… thank you, for those words. “A strange fire” indeed, sometimes it can be that way!

  6. Beth Winter says:

    crusted want… I love this expression of the sense of despair, the sense of desiring long past possibility. There is so much here and I loved every phrase and thought.

    Beth

  7. Pat Hatt says:

    Sometimes we don’t know how much power we truly do hold, very powerful poem, nicely done!

  8. Andy says:

    WoW! A truly vivid piece.

    Nice to meet you for the opening of dVerse!

  9. marousia says:

    strong images – enjoyed reading – thank you 🙂

  10. knightsheart says:

    Ah the music of poetry journeying across the soul….
    Great write!!

  11. Monika says:

    This is powerful. Deep in it, engrossed with the strangeness of life, everyone has a fire, sure to lit up sometime if not today.
    Beautiful my friend.

  12. Dulce says:

    What kindda fire is this? Wondering in your words still. Good write!

  13. Eric says:

    Some fires burn in different ways. Nice piece!

  14. C Rose says:

    Very well composed:

    “My fingertips leave trails of
    charred yellow, turn to ash
    I write messages in the sand
    The lines of my letters sink
    down, crack the earth
    splitting continents into phrases
    of scattered rivers”

    Such a striking stanza, your imagery was captivating throughout! ~ Rose

  15. Claudia says:

    wow – love the images in this…longing to be swallowed in waves
    of cold water… what a strange fire and yet – think most of us can relate

  16. M.A.S says:

    The repetitive “swallow” motif is very effective. And one image that is absolutely gorgeous is “the fire inhales itself.” I quite enjoyed myself in your poem.

Thank you for your comments, much appreciated!!

