patched pieces of days

when crumpled leaves flake, flutter, drift,
whispering unspoken summer dreams,
warmth emerges from a zippered cocoon

threads taut, strong, holding together
scraps, pieces of a life, patches sewn
by strings of tears, hopes, running
lines of talks, walks and prayers

light and dark shadows
days of joy and sorrow
sun and rain
heat and snow

in the middle of each square, dead center
a heart light burns, a burning red, a hearth fire
where a pot of melting stories
mixed in a generation’s book
come alive, spoken,
a dialogue crisp and engaging
of life bent and blue,
of days green, golden, brown
dotted, floral, calico,
yellow… and true.

***

My mother made the log cabin scrap quilt (pictured above) some years ago and gave it to me as a gift. She has given each of her children several homemade quilts; they are treasured family heirlooms.

The quilt is made entirely of scrap material. The dark colors in the quilt represent the hard, sorrowful times of life, and the lighter colors represent joys and sunny days. The red square in the middle represents the hearth, the home fire that burns… and was the center of the log cabin home. 

Recently I was inspired to make a painting, an abstract idea of the quilt, despite not having painted in a number of years. In my painting below, each square is a different shape, signifying we each have a different life, a different burden to bear… but a red hearth, a fire, still burns in each unique square… we each have the same heart beating inside and spark of divine fire.

Sharing with d’Verse Poets for Open Link Night, Week 18

the painting I created, inspired by my mother's quilt, (July 2011)

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to patched pieces of days

  1. Adura Ojo says:

    Like the way you link patchwork to memories and experiences. Clever, Creative write.

  2. brian miller says:

    nice..this is beautiful…have a quilt my mother made and each patch is a story, crafted in love and i love to lay under it…great verse

  3. ayala says:

    How wonderful to have this beautiful quilt that your mom made….lovely!

  4. my mother made me a quilt all from my great grandmas clothes. its priceless to me. thank you for reminding me of her. 🙂

    http://magicinthebackyard.wordpress.com/2011/11/15/grace/

  5. Pat Hatt says:

    Great play off the quilt, sowed each square away in your verse, very nicely done.

  6. claudia says:

    this is a beautiful piece of patchwork..and a good reminder how life is as well..pieces of a life, patches sewn
    by strings of tears, hopes… true..

  7. Mohana says:

    Beautiful beautiful piece!

  8. Its beautiful… and the quilts are lovely too.. thanks for sharing such lovely verse…

    Shashi
    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com/2011/11/whispers-where-you-will-go.html

  9. Poets Rally says:

    love the quilt,
    wow.

    beautiful art/poetry.

  10. Oh, I love your abstract painting!

    Love the gifts of sunny and shadowed strips on a quilt made of love, like the world itself turning!

    And what a beautiful poem. I was spept away instantly to my grandmother’s home. Boy, was she a wonderful “goods” collector for her quilts and hooked rugs. And always had the fire warm, the cider hot and the potato salad cold!! 🙂

    Now…. I think you may have heard this before but… you are to receive a sidebar button on my site. The news is, today is YOUR day. And I think this post will give me the graphic, my dear. i loveg how art and love work out!!

    xoxo

  11. Well, it’s up.

    Not sure yet if I’ll further retweak the font placement. I’ll see what I see as the next few days unfold for me and mine.

    I really (obviously.) 🙂 like that particular corner of your painting!

    xoxo

Thank you for your comments, much appreciated!!

