In Gently Cupped Hand

In Gently Cupped Hand

When flowers fall down from heaven
floating toward tumultuous land
I know not where fragility ends
as I’m caught in gently cupped hand

Vapors exhume in darkness
but vapor of breath am I
Weapons circle sharp around me–
foreign child fallen from sky

Living among others embattled
Born to laugh and to cry
Fighting and bleeding, breathing–
a Battling until I die

The heart drums a distinct pattern
The breaths, a measured rate
The rhythm, set by the leader
The song, that of my own fate

I laugh among rushes and fields
I sing with clouds and creek
I dance with white robed angels
‘Til I find the country I seek

The days, harmonic melody
of movements and stanzas of rest
Chords of truth strum the soul deep
‘til I reach my lifelong quest

Tho’ heart breaks from cacaphony
and weeps in hostile land–
yet hopes in songs of cloud maker
and is healed in gently cupped hand

***
Sharing with d’Verse and Imperfect Prose
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to In Gently Cupped Hand

  1. timeless. such beauty and heartache in your words and yet, hope lingers. Love the pace, perfect for the subject. I could almost hear my own heartbeat! Nice pen!

  2. brian miller says:

    my fav stanza was…I laugh among rushes and fields
    I sing with clouds and creek
    I dance with white robed angels
    ‘Til I find the country I seek

    because it is the hope in the midst that you reference in the last stanza…nice…

  3. ayala says:

    Beauty, pain and hope, all strung together beautifully.

  4. tinkwelborn says:

    rich with meanings and beautifully used language…pain & hope….Powerful poem.

  5. Poets Rally says:

    reflective, masterful delivery.

    Hello,
    How is your day?

    Glad to land here,
    Amazing poetic muses shared,
    Smiles.

    Welcome joining us for poets rally week 57,
    A random poem or a free verse is okay.
    Hope to see you in.

    Happy Thursday.
    xoxox

  6. really really beautiful! i love it, your writing is lovely xxxx so glad i found you from the imperfect prose linkup xxxx

  7. “foreign child fallen from the sky.” this stole me away. exquisite prose.

  8. beautiful. so comforting!

Thank you for your comments, much appreciated!!

