A Thousand Twilights

At parting, a thousand drums thundered
across the sky, dropping
wedges between us, cutting
time in sharp divides —
impassable mountain range

Sometimes when I listen to the wind
I hear him calling…
a thousand twilights have taken me
to hide in shades of evergreen

Trees speak to one another,
leaves whisper to me below as I
rest in the shadows and catch these
quivering love songs in my hands–
white flowers that only
bloom under midnight stars–

Hold them to my heart–
and like all earthly things
wonder if they too
will eventually die

***

sharing with dVerse Open Link Night Week 29
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to A Thousand Twilights

  1. claudia says:

    catching the quivering love songs of the trees and the wind…this is a beautiful atmospheric piece..

  2. zongrik says:

    we kind of don’t want to believe we can lose something important, but it all goes away someday

  3. Even if they do, is it not a privilege and delight to have experienced love in such a way? If humans can know such an experience also, surely that which is to come is so much greater? Beautifully written…

    • wayside word garden says:

      Yes, it is… you are right… just lamenting some things that have gone or will be gone… but what you say is true! 🙂 Thank you.

  4. Loved this piece–love trees and the whispers of tress–loved the opening stanza–loved the flow of this piece–I guess I just loved it–
    @AudreyHowitt

  5. ayala says:

    These lines are gorgeous…
    Trees speak to one another,
    leaves whisper to me below as I
    rest in the shadows and catch these
    quivering love songs in my hands– wow!

  6. brian miller says:

    ah i love to listen to the wind as well…and hear what nature has to say…the end carries a bit of sadness to me…in the acknowledgement that most things pass away…

  7. Chazzy Chazz says:

    Excellent evocation of a moment and its eventual loss. You show how poetry can indeed place things into a perspective that brings awareness and appreciation for another world in this one.

  8. ManicDdaily says:

    The way this moves from the personal (the wedges between us) to nature and the atmospheric is lovely. K.

  9. This is so vivid and real. Wind has never been one of my favorite things, but you bring out the beauty of it. Very nice.

    • wayside word garden says:

      I have to admit I don’t like very cold and gusty winds, but a soft warm breeze is kind of nice. Thank you for the lovely comment.

  10. ladynyo says:

    Lovely, lovely…put me right there under the evergreens.

    Evocative piece!

    Lady Nyo

  11. ~L says:

    white flowers that only bloom under midnight start… my heart was sold after this line… what a beautiful poem and oh how it makes you wonder the deeper meanings in within ones soul!

    ~L

Thank you for your comments, much appreciated!!

