But for Hope

BUT FOR HOPE

When he summons, distance dissipates,
my heart journeys in the wind
a thousand miles to his hands–
a sheltered place

Hourglass turns inside out,
time unfolds, we hold the sands
that once slipped, commence again
the days the locusts devoured and stripped white–
innocent, expectant youth

He touches my words softly
pours them like honey
sings melody with me
in a hidden glen

Find us there
in the hollows of dreams
in a world of evergreen summer
where love does not wither,
and hearts forget themselves

But for hope, I persevere

***

Sharing for OpenLinkNight Week #30 with dVerse Poets

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to But for Hope

  1. Just gorgeous writing–soft–lovely, elegant–

  2. Sherri says:

    Beautiful words. I like the sand glass imagery.

  3. claudia says:

    i just love the images you paint with this…
    He touches my words softly
    pours them like honey
    sings melody with me
    in a hidden glen… so tender and full of music and intimacy..

  4. siiiigh I love that last stanza! beautiful and inspiring. Winter is but only a season. ♥

    my offering
    http://kellieelmore.com/2012/02/02/in-the-haze-of-knowing/

  5. tashtoo says:

    Just lovely! Wonderful writing!

  6. “my heart journeys in the wind
    a thousand miles to his hands–
    a sheltered place”

    Beautiful words…

  7. Quirina says:

    A poem of utter loveliness.

    • wayside word garden says:

      So kind of you, thanks Quirina!
      (By the way, I’ve tried to comment on your blog, but I’m not able to get a comment through. 😦 I think it is a blogspot issue, I’m having trouble with several blogs. )

  8. ayala says:

    I love the images here, just beautiful !

  9. Laurie Kolp says:

    This sings to me, it’s so beautiful. I especially like stanza 3.

    http://lkkolp.wordpress.com/2012/02/07/granted-constitutional-rights/

  10. Jerry says:

    Without hope the noise of this world is deafening. These words are gentle on the soul and received with gratefulness. “Hearts forget themselves” that is rare but so life giving.

  11. C Rose says:

    Such a touching sentiment of hope in this, truly lovely my friend! ~ Rose

Thank you for your comments, much appreciated!!

