The Comfort of Winter

The Comfort of Winter

It is when gray sky unleashes
a torrent of ivory jewels, sparkling
quietly, pristine-like, as if to tempt
a treasure seeker, turning hearts cold,
when fingers turn to ice
and I can no longer feel
my nose

It is after I slide my feet in snow,
marking a trail of forgotten grass
of dark stripes in white, and after
I dodge a snowball that smashes
intoย liquid slush

It is when deafening thunder
forces me indoors, when cracking
black clouds scold young
tendrils grasping for air
through thawing ground

That is when…

That is when I seek solace,
warmth, wrap my fingers
around a blue ceramic mug
sip sweet comfort,
fall asleep snug and
dream that diamonds melt
into crimson cordate heaps…

it is in the freezing I learn
of the balm of a blazing fire

***

Submitting for d’Verse ~ Open Link Night Week #33ย ,ย Painting Prose, and L.L. Barkat at On, In and Around Mondays
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The Comfort of Winter

  1. colleen says:

    I like the “balm of blazing fire” and the images of the jeweled white covering the grass, kind of like the white tunnel before death, a beauty to something we fear as hard.

    • wayside word garden says:

      Thank you, Colleen… I don’t really prefer winter or the cold, but there is beauty in a freshly fallen snow ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I miss winter. I miss the snow. I miss jumping in the snow.

    Awesome write.

  3. emily says:

    I love all of this…and have missed experiencing it this year. Thank you for letting me walk through it here ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I love this piece–the sense are so enlivened here–I don’t have snow where I live, and I miss feeling that snap in the air–Lovely write!

    • wayside word garden says:

      Thank you, Audrey!
      Also– just want to tell you that I’ve tried to comment on your blog numerous times the past several weeks– but I cannot get any comments through.

  5. tashtoo says:

    It has been snowing here since I woke this morning…I too, thanks to your words, can appreciate the balm of a warming fire…but can’t quite motivate hubby to do his thing (yes, I’m sexist!) Love the language and the memories brought forth by your write.

    • wayside word garden says:

      Ha ha, I’m just like you! I don’t know how to start a fire, either. But I should really learn. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for your nice comment!

  6. brian miller says:

    nice…in the contrast…in knwoing both sides we can appreciate each for what they are…and after much fun in the snow the other week…hot coffee def hit the spot…smiles.

  7. ayala says:

    Love the last lines ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. It is in the freezing I learn of the balm of a blazing fire. How true this is, in fact it is a metaphor for everything we should appreciate in life. It’s only when we’ve touched the opposite that we truly appreciate something. Great piece!

  9. Daphne says:

    I love, love, loved the imagery in this poem, as well as the beautiful choice of words you used. It truly captured the serene essence of winter, and I enjoyed reading it. Excellently done!!

  10. Beth Winter says:

    I wonder why I felt like settling in and getting most comfortable when I read the first line ๐Ÿ™‚ Beautiful work.

  11. hypercryptical says:

    Oh I love this! It captures the very essence of that wonderful feeling sitting in the warmth of home when all outside is cold and black.

    Anna :o]

Thank you for your comments, much appreciated!!

