The Turning

The Turning

I take a spear and tear
ground open, unzipping
warm earth,  watch half-
earthworms wriggle, struggle
for slice of dirt-breath

In desperation, I plant
a few seeds and wait in vain
for a forest and hope
for the turning
of sunflowers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to The Turning

  1. wayside word garden says:

    Sharing with d’verse, Open Link Night Week 39!

  2. brian miller says:

    this is beauty in its rawness…as we search for hope an earthworm we harm in the process seeks breath in the dirts…everything has its reaction…

    • wayside word garden says:

      Thank you, Brian! Your comment reminds me of one of Newton’s laws of motion…. 🙂 (wish I had thought of that sooner for the science prompt that came up later in the week!)

  3. Gay says:

    You capture the fragility of life, and the note that earthworms can regenerate and will aerate the earth. The beauty you allude to should follow with that equal share of caring and hope. Well penned!

    • wayside word garden says:

      Thanks, Gay… I hadn’t thought of the aeration aspect, but that can bring another meaning in I hadn’t seen at first! Love when that happens…appreciate your insight!

  4. claudia says:

    i love the breaking open the soil to look deeper and then throwing out seeds…whatever they become..maybe not what we expected…but there’s much hope in this

    • wayside word garden says:

      Hmmm…. sometimes we don’t know what is growing? I hope we do, though, Claudia, I hope we do know….:) smiles

  5. dasuntoucha says:

    Hope is indeed an essential component of existence…vivid piece.

    • wayside word garden says:

      What a strong, truthful statement– I love how you put that. It is indeed! Thank you, dasuntoucha.

  6. M.A.S says:

    I like the whole thing, but the 1st stanze is amazing. I see it like a photograph. “Unzipping warm earth” sounds beautiful.

    • wayside word garden says:

      After looking at your site, I saw your interest in photography, and I’m tickled that you see a photograph in this piece– thank you so much!

  7. This reminded me of Martin Luther’s reply when asked what he would do if the world where going to end tomorrow: “Plant a tree,” he said. I think you have captured that same hope and sense of continuity here.

  8. poemsofhateandhope says:

    This speaks to me about being brave enough to expose yourself to new beginnings/new growth- very nice metaphor and a deeply emotive piece- we all need to dig from time to time

    • wayside word garden says:

      Really appreciate that, Stuart… thank you for seeing the metaphor in my words! Loved your piece for d’Verse….

  9. ladynyo says:

    This is so lovely, and yes, compassionate!

    Lady Nyo

  10. I felt the urgency of spring!

  11. Chazinator says:

    Are you too gardening? I’m very envious, since I won’t be able to plant this year. I like the idea of the spear! There’s a little of the destruction that goes into creation in the mention of the worms.

    • wayside word garden says:

      Actually– I am indeed gardening! How did you know? 🙂 But, I’m sorry to hear that you can’t plant this year…? Please share…. 🙂

  12. kd sullivan says:

    I love how halting the first stanza is and how lilting the second. Wonderful!

Thank you for your comments, much appreciated!!

