Somewhere, Winter is Dying

Somewhere, winter is dying
Winter is dying somewhere

We know it is time.
The apple barrel is nearly empty
And I am no longer muffled
by the snow.

I am not sure what to do
when spring comes;
will I know where to step,
will I sink in the grass
or stand upon blades
with bleeding feet?

No, but the ground
is soft and the world
is mist and moving
like the cricket. I see the
owl and taste the wild
winds and I know
that rain is the lullaby
of spring.

***

Sharing with the lovely poetic community at d’Verse, Open Link Night Week #44
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Somewhere, Winter is Dying

  1. brian miller says:

    the ground
    is soft and the world
    is mist and moving
    like the cricket…haha i really like that…barefoot is the best way to go for sure…and the line that comes just after that too…..whole last stanza is stellar…

  2. Semaphore / Samuel Peralta says:

    That final line is just wonderful, about the rain being the lullaby of spring. So serene, so whispery, so perfect.

  3. I adore the last stanza – very lovely.

  4. Eve Redwater says:

    I love the last stanza too; the whole poem is a wonder!

  5. ayala says:

    Love this…. I see the
    owl and taste the wild
    winds and I know
    that rain is the lullaby
    of spring………………beautiful!

Thank you for your comments, much appreciated!!

